Perfect Picture Book Friday: Marigold Bakes a Cake PLUS Giveaway

Happy Perfect Picture Book Friday, dear friends!

We’ve actually just passed the half-way mark in this year of reviewing as many 2017 picture books as we can. Which means we have a whole other half of a year to go. Yes! Six more months of fabulous stories to review.

But first…a word from our sponsor. Oh, wait a minute…we don’t have a sponsor here. But we DO have some prizes to give away thanks to Maria Gianferrari. She offered to give away a copy of Hello Goodbye Dog. And the winner is…

CHARLOTTE DIXON

And that’s not all…Maria also offered to give away a Picture Book Manuscript Critique. And the winner is…

SUNWALKER2013

Congratulations, ladies! I’ll be contacting you soon to connect you both with Maria.

Plus, don’t forget to leave a comment on today’s post and tomorrow’s Will Write for Cookies because our wonderful debut picture book author/illustrator, Mike Malbrough is giving way a copy of MARIGOLD BAKES A CAKE.

Marigold_COVER

Marigold Bakes a Cake

Written and illustrated by Mike Malbrough

Publisher: Philomel Books (July 2017 – Happy Book Birthday!)

Ages: Preschool – Grade 2

Synopsis:

From Amazon:

For fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon… series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold’s kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays!

 Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. Then he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That’s not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

 With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken.

Opening Lines:

“Marigold liked everything just so.”

Why I like this book:

  • Great pacing and page turns!
  • Fabulous illustrations!
  • Spot on FUNNY!
  • Wonderful read aloud!
  • And who doesn’t love a cat who can bake?

RELATED ACTIVITIES

KID-FRIENDLY AND IBS FRIENDLY BRER RABBIT CARROT CAKE

brer rabbit carrot cakePhoto courtesy: http://www.food.com/recipe 

I love inviting kids into the kitchen…it’s fun! And they learn so much. Science. Math. Literacy skills. Geography and Social Studies (where the foods come from).

I’ve made this recipe hundreds of times for my husband…it is his favorite cake. And because he has nothing artificial…it’s great for the kids, too. The recipe is originally from:  Eating for IBS by Heather Van Vorous.

You will need:

1 1⁄2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1⁄2 teaspoons baking powder

3⁄4 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1⁄2 teaspoon allspice

1⁄2 teaspoon nutmeg

3⁄4 cup granulated sugar

1⁄4 cup packed brown sugar

3⁄4 cup egg whites or 3⁄4 cup egg substitute

1⁄2 cup canola oil

2 tablespoons fresh orange zest

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1⁄2-2 cups carrots, packed finely shredded or grated

3⁄4 cup canned crushed pineapple, with liquid

Sweet Orange Icing

 

3⁄4 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar

1 1⁄2 teaspoons fresh orange zest

1 tablespoon fresh orange juice

1⁄2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

For detailed instructions, please click here.

Have a wonderful weekend, dear friends…don’t forget to leave a comment to be entered in the giveaway and please come back tomorrow for:

Will Write for Cookies

With debut picture book author

MIKE MALBROUGH

 

This post is part of a series for parents and teachers called Perfect Picture Book Fridays hosted by Susannah Leonard Hill. Click on her link and find lots of other picture book suggestions with summaries and activities.

31 thoughts on “Perfect Picture Book Friday: Marigold Bakes a Cake PLUS Giveaway

  1. What a fun book! And you combined two of my favorite deserts – carrot cake and glazed bundt cake. WOW. Looking forward to reading this book.

    As #PPBF is still on hiatus – could have something to do with two book tours and three book launches – I am taking you up on the suggestion to link my PPBF review with your site. Here is my #PPBF review of the fun interactive, meta book – DON’T BLINK. http://www.mariacmarshall.com/single-post/2017/07/20/Dont-Blink—Perfect-Picture-Book-Friday-PPBF

    Like

  2. I laughed out loud when I saw the cover of this book and then read the first line. I love to bake, and I also love everything to be just so! It sounds like perfect book to share with my two kids who have suffered through many cookie and cake baking experiences with me. Thanks for sharing the book and the recipe, Vivian! I think I’ll “try” both. 🙂

    Like

  3. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book. I have a little chef at home who loves food related picture books. I’m sure he’ll have a blast!

    Like

  4. This book looks simply delectable! I can surely relate to what a mess my kitchen turns into when I bake. But my grandmother seemed to hold the opinion that a good cook is often a messy cook.

    Like

  5. I think this book is another excellent mentor text for me to study. I love finding picture books that are funny, great to read aloud, have perfect page turns, and of course, illustrations to study along with the text to learn more about the play of words with the art. Can’t wait to read this book.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Mike Malbrough: Will Write for Cookies PLUS Giveaway | Picture Books Help Kids Soar

  7. Wow. A great new book I can’t wait to read and and a scrumptious cake recipe, too. Thank you as always for finding and sharing! Mahalo.

    Like

  8. I already own a copy of this book and it is hilarious! I love to bake and, as many people (and cats, apparently) know, bakers need to have everything “just so” for it to turn out right. Maybe birds are better cooks than bakers. If I win a copy, I will donate it to a very worthy cause, because I know they will love it too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s