Perfect Picture Book Friday: Marigold Bakes a Cake PLUS Giveaway

Happy Perfect Picture Book Friday, dear friends!

We’ve actually just passed the half-way mark in this year of reviewing as many 2017 picture books as we can. Which means we have a whole other half of a year to go. Yes! Six more months of fabulous stories to review.

But first…a word from our sponsor. Oh, wait a minute…we don’t have a sponsor here. But we DO have some prizes to give away thanks to Maria Gianferrari. She offered to give away a copy of Hello Goodbye Dog. And the winner is…

CHARLOTTE DIXON

And that’s not all…Maria also offered to give away a Picture Book Manuscript Critique. And the winner is…

SUNWALKER2013

Congratulations, ladies! I’ll be contacting you soon to connect you both with Maria.

Plus, don’t forget to leave a comment on today’s post and tomorrow’s Will Write for Cookies because our wonderful debut picture book author/illustrator, Mike Malbrough is giving way a copy of MARIGOLD BAKES A CAKE.

Marigold_COVER

Marigold Bakes a Cake

Written and illustrated by Mike Malbrough

Publisher: Philomel Books (July 2017 – Happy Book Birthday!)

Ages: Preschool – Grade 2

Synopsis:

From Amazon:

For fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon… series. Baking the perfect cake is how Marigold spends Mondays. Being messy, noisy, and disruptive in Marigold’s kitchen are how one finch, two pigeons, and three loons spend their Mondays!

 Marigold the cat loves Mondays, for that is when he bakes cakes! With his favorite recipe in front of him, he rolls up his sleeves and gets down to it. He whips up egg whites . . . Easy. He adds a cup of milk . . . Peasy. Then he sprinkles in just a pinch of . . . of finch?! That’s not right at all! Neither are the smidgeons of pigeons or the spoonsfull of loons. Clearly a chase is in order! Yet all that leads to is a spectacularly messy kitchen. And no cake.

 With a recipe comprised of equal parts humor and charm, author-illustrator Mike Malbrough has cooked up a scrumptious laugh-out-loud addition to the great tradition of interruption books. Perfect for fans of Mo Willems’ Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus and David Ezra Stein’s Interrupting Chicken.

Opening Lines:

“Marigold liked everything just so.”

Why I like this book:

  • Great pacing and page turns!
  • Fabulous illustrations!
  • Spot on FUNNY!
  • Wonderful read aloud!
  • And who doesn’t love a cat who can bake?

RELATED ACTIVITIES

KID-FRIENDLY AND IBS FRIENDLY BRER RABBIT CARROT CAKE

brer rabbit carrot cakePhoto courtesy: http://www.food.com/recipe 

I love inviting kids into the kitchen…it’s fun! And they learn so much. Science. Math. Literacy skills. Geography and Social Studies (where the foods come from).

I’ve made this recipe hundreds of times for my husband…it is his favorite cake. And because he has nothing artificial…it’s great for the kids, too. The recipe is originally from:  Eating for IBS by Heather Van Vorous.

You will need:

1 1⁄2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1⁄2 teaspoons baking powder

3⁄4 teaspoon baking soda

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1⁄2 teaspoon allspice

1⁄2 teaspoon nutmeg

3⁄4 cup granulated sugar

1⁄4 cup packed brown sugar

3⁄4 cup egg whites or 3⁄4 cup egg substitute

1⁄2 cup canola oil

2 tablespoons fresh orange zest

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1⁄2-2 cups carrots, packed finely shredded or grated

3⁄4 cup canned crushed pineapple, with liquid

Sweet Orange Icing

 

3⁄4 cup sifted confectioners’ sugar

1 1⁄2 teaspoons fresh orange zest

1 tablespoon fresh orange juice

1⁄2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

For detailed instructions, please click here.

Have a wonderful weekend, dear friends…don’t forget to leave a comment to be entered in the giveaway and please come back tomorrow for:

Will Write for Cookies

With debut picture book author

MIKE MALBROUGH

 

This post is part of a series for parents and teachers called Perfect Picture Book Fridays hosted by Susannah Leonard Hill. Click on her link and find lots of other picture book suggestions with summaries and activities.

About viviankirkfield

Writer for children - Reader forever Mom of 3, educator, author of SWEET DREAMS, SARAH (Creston Books, 2018), picture book junkie, lover of travel, hiking, cooking, playing Monopoly with my 8-year old grandson and fly-fishing with my husband.

Posted on July 21, 2017, in Dessert recipe, Perfect Pictture Book Friday, Picture book reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. David McMullin

    This is sure to be a lot of fun. Thanks for sharing. And the cake looks terrific.

    Like

  2. What a fun book! And you combined two of my favorite deserts – carrot cake and glazed bundt cake. WOW. Looking forward to reading this book.

    As #PPBF is still on hiatus – could have something to do with two book tours and three book launches – I am taking you up on the suggestion to link my PPBF review with your site. Here is my #PPBF review of the fun interactive, meta book – DON’T BLINK. http://www.mariacmarshall.com/single-post/2017/07/20/Dont-Blink—Perfect-Picture-Book-Friday-PPBF

    Like

  3. This sounds like a fun book.

    Like

  4. Oh, my! Which is more delicious, this funny new book or this scrumptious cake? This time, we can have our cake and read it, too. Thanks for introducing me to both, Vivian!

    Like

  5. Becky Scharnhorst

    I laughed out loud when I saw the cover of this book and then read the first line. I love to bake, and I also love everything to be just so! It sounds like perfect book to share with my two kids who have suffered through many cookie and cake baking experiences with me. Thanks for sharing the book and the recipe, Vivian! I think I’ll “try” both. 🙂

    Like

  6. This book looks adorable!

    Like

  7. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book. I have a little chef at home who loves food related picture books. I’m sure he’ll have a blast!

    Like

  8. This book looks simply delectable! I can surely relate to what a mess my kitchen turns into when I bake. But my grandmother seemed to hold the opinion that a good cook is often a messy cook.

    Like

  9. This book looks adorable!

    Like

  10. A stupendous debut it looks absolutely adorable! I just put it on order at the library so I can read it before buying it for my grand baby JoJo.

    Like

  11. Now who would object to those tasty ingredients? LOL. This sounds like a fun book.

    Like

  12. danielle hammelef

    I think this book is another excellent mentor text for me to study. I love finding picture books that are funny, great to read aloud, have perfect page turns, and of course, illustrations to study along with the text to learn more about the play of words with the art. Can’t wait to read this book.

    Like

  13. Emmie R Werner

    Love the cover……….and cooking with kids!!!!!!

    Like

  14. Beth Gallagher

    I can hardly wait to get my hands on this book! Love the name Marigold too. 😉

    Like

  15. No one likes to be interrupted when baking a cake! What a fun premise. I have to read this one!

    Like

  16. Love that cover. You know it going to be good for a lot of laughs. Have noticed an increase in books with baking themes — particularly in the MG books.

    Like

  17. That is a gorgeous cover and sure to be whipped off the shelves. This post has all the right ingredients to keep you smiling for the rest of the day. Yum!

    Like

  18. Inviting cover… Sounds like a fun bake!

    Like

  19. What fun! And a yummy recipe, too.

    Like

  20. I must have this book! I’m sure it will stir up memories of fun times in the kitchen with the kids. I’ll have to have some of that cake, too.

    Like

  21. I’ll be looking for this book – it sounds like a lot of fun!

    Like

  22. Love the name Marigold! I’m hooked just from the opening line. Can’t wait to add it to my bookshelf.

    Like

  23. Wow. A great new book I can’t wait to read and and a scrumptious cake recipe, too. Thank you as always for finding and sharing! Mahalo.

    Like

  24. I already own a copy of this book and it is hilarious! I love to bake and, as many people (and cats, apparently) know, bakers need to have everything “just so” for it to turn out right. Maybe birds are better cooks than bakers. If I win a copy, I will donate it to a very worthy cause, because I know they will love it too.

    Like

  25. Both the book and the cake look delicious!

    Like

  26. I can’t wait to get my paws on this book. I love word play humor and this sounds like a winner. Kids will just love it!

    Like

  27. Putting this one on my list! Looks adorable. Thanks for the post!

    Like

  28. Looks like a hilarious adorable read.

    Like

  29. This looks like a book that pulls readers right in! So funny, Can’t wait to check it out!

    Like

  1. Pingback: Mike Malbrough: Will Write for Cookies PLUS Giveaway | Picture Books Help Kids Soar

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

National Day Calendar

Fun, unusual and forgotten designations on our calendar.

Michelle Eastman Books

Kid Lit Author and Advocate

Hmmmmm

about reading, writing & thinking children's books

Laura Boffa: Write of Way

Giving the way of writing the right of way

PICTURE the BOOKS

A Gallery of New Picture Book Talent

EMU's Debuts

From Deal to Debut: the Path to Publication

Wander, Ponder, Write

A KidLit Journey...

Picture Book House

reviews and stories about parenting with picture books

pernilleripp.wordpress.com/

Blogging Through the Fourth Dimension

Norah Colvin

Live Love Laugh Learn . . . Create the possibilities

Beth Anderson, Children's Writer

Reader, Writer, Miner of Moments

Dan Szczesny

Travel Writer / Journalist / Author

Susanna Leonard Hill

Children's Author

The Stinky Backpack

Traveling the Everyday World

Write One Real Life

Where writing meets faith in the real world.

The Runaway Palate

Food. Travel. Cooking. Random musings. Maybe some historical stuff.

The Reader and the Book

"O Day of days when we can read! The reader and the book, either without the other is naught." Ralph Waldo Emerson

WRITERS' RUMPUS

Authors & Illustrators Wild About Kidlit!

One Good Thing

Teresa Robeson's 365-Day project

Tracy Campbell

Heart for Ewe Publishing

Jilanne Hoffmann

The Writer's Shadow

kidsbook friends

Check out this blog about children's books!

Mary Jo Beswick

Author and Illustrator of Children's Picture Books

Leslie Leibhardt Goodman

Children's Writer

Pattern Me Mommy

My journey from Type A know-it-all to MOMMY! by Anna Redding

READ to KIDS

PB author, poet, writing for kids

Friendly Fairy Tales

Fairy Tales and Poetry Celebrating Magic and Nature for Kids of all Ages

Lauri Fortino's Frog On A (B)log

Sharing and Celebrating Picture Books Since 2009

Stacy S. Jensen

Let's Read Picture Books Together

Reading With Rhythm

book reviews from Rhythm the Library Dog

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

Nerdy Chicks Write

Get it Write this Summer!

Laura Sassi Tales

Celebrating writing, reading, and life.

Erika Wassall here... The Jersey Farm Scribe

Author, Freelance Writer, Entreprenur... LIVER of life

Angie Karcher

Writing Children's Books

Chapter Book Chat

A Writer Reviews Chapter Books, by Marty Mokler Banks

The Blabbermouth Blog

Literary Agent Linda Epstein's Yakkety Yakking

The Waiting

Turns out, it's not the hardest part.

%d bloggers like this: